“Perfect” LEJoG .. travelling day & Day One

In a perfect world everything goes right, buses, trains, planes, the world everything runs smoothly so as a start to my mad journey I will document the perfect trip for travelling to Penzance then the start of my trip to John o Groats on day 1.

20170130_114753

Here we go, lunchtime start by train from Wolverhampton into Birmingham New Street to connect with the train for my long journey on the day before the trip starts, it’s a long way to Penzance, just over 6 hours but it will give me chance to relax before a heavy 4 days of travel but worth every bit of lack of sleep and aches and pains for 3 Charities .. Prostate Cancer UK, Help Harry Help Others and SoBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide.

Distance to Penzance is 309 miles journeying through Cheltenham, Bristol Temple Meads, Taunton before I change trains at Exeter for a 26 minute wait for my connection travelling along the seawall at Dawlish hopefully with a sea that behaves itself .. (video below)

Dawlish by Train in stormy weather

after travelling through Newton Abbott next Interchange is Plymouth arriving at 1721 and still 2 hours 16 minutes away from Penzance, after leaving Plymouth we hit Cornwall which is part of the journey I am looking forward to having never been further south than Bristol and Weymouth, scenery should be amazing and I think it will still be daylight so hopefully get some pictures from the train window. Lostwithiel, Par, Liskeard, Truro, St Erth just a few of the quaint names we pass through on our “perfect” journey. Hopefully arriving in Penzance at 1937. My first bed for the night is situated near the train station so on day 1 I wont have to walk far, my lodging choices over the 4 days are based on being as close to the train / bus stations as possible and also cheap and cheerful, just a place to put my head for the night after long days travelling on “THE PERFECT JOURNEY”.

All checked in and my LEJoG record signed and stamped, now to find somewhere to eat and a few pints to relax and prepare for my long Day 1 of travelling LEJoG, need to get as far north as possible.

SO ITS HERE 9 months of planning is about to start on the perfect trip to Scotland and the Highlands .. early start and leaving behind in my room 3 bracelets representing all 3 charities and a bit of information about each also a Thank You card, this I will be doing in each Hotel / BnB I stay at, hopefully spreading the word and support for my chosen charities.

Penzance to Lands End Bus 1A The Video

 

lands-end-sign

Officially my LEJoG doesn’t start until 0937 when I leave Lands End back towards Penzance for my train to Plymouth and Birmingham. Bus 1A through St Buryan and Sennen Cove to the world-famous Sign Post at Lands End, here I take pictures and lay my bracelets T Shirt and if I can sort it a flag for more pictures. Catch some breakfast and a cup of tea while waiting til 0937 for my bus 11 miles back to Penzance Bus Station, my first train leaves at 1044 and is a nearly 2 hour journey to Plymouth for a change to Birmingham. 79 miles later and a 41 minute wait for the 1325 service back up to the Midlands and Birmingham where my journey started 24 hours earlier. Its 217 miles to the second city and 3 hours 31 minutes of train journey, working on the railway I get a discount on my train tickets so for this part I will be using a 3 in 7 Freedom of Severn & Solent Ranger and also because the boundary is at Cheltenham I need a single ticket to Birmingham New Street (I did get a return because I do same trip on the Sunday). Last leg of the day is to Carlisle which is my finishing point for day 1, working for Virgin Trains its Free Travel for me on the 193 miles journey, probably feeling the tiredness by now but still intent of staying awake all the way I’ll probably be thinking “Gimme my  bed”… 9 hours 15 minutes  and another 51 minutes travel to Lands End which I don’t count after starting my journey from Penzance I arrive at the end of Day 1 in Carlisle where everything as been on time, no railway disruption, no bus crashes THE PERFECT TRIP“.

BnB for the night rest and a good nights sleep before another long day on Day 2, nearly at my target … more to follow about the perfect day 2 in my next blog.

Day 1 500 miles completed plus 320 miles travelling distance only about another 470 to go.

Please check out my Donations page at LEJoG Donations every penny helps so far I have been promised £250 so a quarter of the way towards my target of £1000.

 

 

Author: the tykester

Married with 2 big kids and 2 step kids and 2 grandkids and 1 step granddaughter, live in Willenhall West Midlands, support Barnsley FC. I work for Virgin Trains

Leave a Reply

