Why Lands End to John o Groats ?

WHY AM I DOING THIS? Well its a personal challenge to me and something to tell my grandkids about, also raising money for 3 charities that are close to me Help Harry Help Others, Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide & Prostate Cancer UK ..

The traditional distance by road is 874 miles but for me when I do this challenge the real distance is 976 miles that’s just the official LEJoG, overall including travel down and back I think its near 1915 miles.An atlas in 2008 said the perfect route by road was 838 miles taking 15 hours 48 minutes to complete, my actual LEJoG journey if everything goes okay will take 19 hours 42 minutes of actual travelling not allowing for connections which is another 5 hours 6 minutes, it also doesn’t take into account my actual travel to the start and back from John o Groats after completing the challenge which in total is another 22 hours 45 minutes ( including waiting time).
Reason I chose to travel by bus and train is because you hear loads about people doing LEJoG or JoGLE by either cycling, walking or running or even driving plus other madcap ideas but  I thought after reading that article about a lad who travelled by bus between the two points that I would combine the two modes of transport I think I know best and because I work on the railway, trains would be quickest (hopefully) but I knew to connect with Lands End & John o Groats I would have to use a bus or two, or maybe even more if the railway went pear-shaped so I have 3 plans A, B & C as backups and alternatives and even now 77 days before I start my journey I am still fine tuning the trip. The other thing about this is keeping awake too, movement of trains can be lethal for sleepiness, I will be travelling a minimum of 8 hours up to 12 hours approximate per day. So 12 trains of varying types and 4 buses is the total modes of transport I will be using for the perfect trip.

lejogtimes

When I start my journey from Day 1 travelling Day through to Day 5 the journey back home my trip will be blogged, vlogged and pictured here ( LEJoG Latest Posts on pages day by day so anybody that reads these build up pages will be able to follow my ups and downs, the good times and bad times as I try to reach my target of £1000 ( Donation Link Here )

Lands End (Cornish name is Penn an Wlas) is the most westerly point of Britain and overlooks the Atlantic so I will probably get some dramatic pictures and also the touristy ones too, I arrive at Lands End at 0721 on Day 1 but will not officially start my journey til 0937 on Bus 1A to Penzance, this is because the connection times at Lands End work better for me.

screenshot-1

lands_end-air

John o Groats (Gaelic name is Taigh Iain Ghrot) is the most north-easterly point of Britain and will be my finish point on Day 3 after  travelling 1257.67 miles after leaving Wolverhampton 4 days previous, Day 3 is a short trip only 39.81 miles from Wick via Thurso and a bus to John o Groats for journey end and my official Lands End to John o Groats trip completed. the furthest northeastern point of Britain only as a population of about 300 people but believe it or not as 2 football teams. Up until 2013 the famous signpost was run by the same company that runs Lands End and you had to pay a charge for a picture at the sign post but now the hotel as reopened a picture is free (confirmed by email from John o Groats Tourism, conveniently still had no reply from Lands End tourism)

john_ogroats_from_the_air

To make up this blog some of the information in it as been researched and my own story for LEJoG mixed in to this read.

Latest update on fundraising .. Donations & pledged donations so far is £409 so nearly half way and 76 days to go. To those that have pledged monies I will be collecting it after I have finished LEJoG, if you want to pay before that then just see me whenever I am around, Thanks for all your support so far.

If you liking what you have read through the first 6 blogs please feel free to add a comment, any support is very welcome.

Author: the tykester

Married with 2 big kids and 2 step kids and 2 grandkids and 1 step granddaughter, live in Willenhall West Midlands, support Barnsley FC. I work for Virgin Trains

Leave a Reply

