Short & Sweet .. a few Thank You’s

67 days to go before I start LEJoG, £409 promised or donated so far towards my target of £1000 (Donation Page) . This blog going to be short and sweet and all about a few thank you’s to people and charities that have helped make this challenge a reality.

20170302_131817

LEJoG is all about three charities which have personal meanings to me and are close to my heart, I spoke about them in Blog 2 (The Charities).

Starting off with thanks to the team at Help Harry Help Others based at Meadway, Birmingham. Thank You to Jon, Kelly, Ryan and Georgie for your support and help. Georgie is Harry’s mom who founded the charity after Harry passed away in 2011 from a brain tumour and I became involved in 2012. I have designed a special LEJoG bracelet based round the route from Cornwall, England, Scotland and all three charities. Help Harry is based in probably one of the first all under one roof Cancer Drop In Centres, where people can get any advice or information they need, check out The Cancer Drop In Centre for more information about what the centre does.20170308_082806

My contact at Prostate Cancer UK was Michael Banks who provided me with T Shirts, PCUK bracelets and the now world-famous stick man that is worn everywhere especially by BDO & PDC Darts players. My inspirations for using this charity is from Martin Adams the BDO darts player who has been through prostate cancer and more personally my close friend Nick Roberts who is going through treatment for prostate cancer.

 

The third charity is a very personal one to me Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide (or SoBS for short), like Help Harry Help Others is a small charity that relies on donations to keep going, it is a charity that my daughter and her friends are involved with after losing her friend Katie nearly 3 years ago. My daughter and Katie’s friends and family received amazing support so I decided I wanted to do my bit and raise funds for SoBS, they like the other charities provided me with T Shirts and information about what they do and what support is available. I did have some bracelets designed in the SoBS colours of purple and white.

20170130_114753-crop

A few thank you’s now to Rob Watson, one of my workmates at Virgin Trains at Birmingham International who worked out the best prices for my train tickets.

Tony Cooks and Mark Howells who have been great support for my mad idea which is now a reality and the closer it gets I definitely think it’s a mad idea but something I can tick off as a one-off event and it will be.

One of my sponsors Henry Clark from Thimbles Embroidery in Sheffield who has sponsored my T Shirt and polo shirt I designed and he provided. Have a look at Thimbles Embroidery 

I am still looking for sponsors for LEJoG, email me at barnsley4065@gmail.com

Another thank you to Sean Griffiths who has provided me with the “Thank You” business cards I will leave at the hotels and start and finish points along with bracelets and information to spread the word nationally hopefully raise more awareness.

I have used web pieces and YouTube videos on my blogs to add a bit of information and pictures so thank you to everybody for their uses, David Ross for the Far North Line read  up.

Vistaprint made me a flag for my LEJoG (I did have to pay for this), a design I did myself.

the flag-crop

So that’s just a few thank you’s and a bit behind them all, the closer the date comes the more I think why am I doing this and then I realise it’s to raise funds for three great charities Help Harry Help Others, Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide and Prostate Cancer UK

Help Harry Help Others website

Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide website

Prostate Cancer UK website

LEJoG Donation page

 

 

Author: the tykester

Married with 2 big kids and 2 step kids and 2 grandkids and 1 step granddaughter, live in Willenhall West Midlands, support Barnsley FC. I work for Virgin Trains

Leave a Reply

