LEJoG Day 4 .. Inverness to Wolverhampton via Edinburgh .. Homeward Bound

Today is dedicated to HHHO, PCUK, SoBS & all my family and friends who have supported me along the way

Feel a little sad today, I have met some great people this week and also seen scenery and places I can only dream of, living in a city, countryside is a rarity unless you go to the outskirts of town or travel somewhere even the sunsets and sunrises I saw in Wick were amazing and I know I will never see anything like that in Wolverhampton or Willenhall where I live.

Leaving Inverness for my 2 connections home, changing at Perth & Inverness and after my first good nights sleep since arriving in Penzance 5 days before. The train left on time at 0845 for Perth and was fairly busy, I later found out Perth Races was happening.

We arrived in Perth early (makes a change), and yet another story to tell, it’s not every day you travel on the same train as Miss Great Britain. Short wait in Perth for my second train to Edinburgh and nearly home time, 1 hour 20 minutes to go before a 30 minute wait and my 6th Wetherspoons knocked off my list. As we approached Edinburgh the train actually cuts across the approach to the runway at Edinburgh Airport.

We arrived in Edinburgh on time, good signs for the rest of the journey, so The Booking Office Wetherspoons it was, sat on the bridge above Edinburgh Waverley station, time for a quick pint and relax before my last train home and a reunion with my wife.

20170518_123553

Last train and 3 hours 41 minutes to home, again a busy train, part way into the journey I got talking to a couple who were travelling to London, spoke about what I had just completed and why, again a random donation to the fundraising, thank you Lynn Stoddart.

I arrived in Wolverhampton on time at 1633 and as I got off the train  Boris Johnson and his bodyguards got on the same train, again not everyday you bump into a “famous” politician or person.

The Finish Line was here, JOURNEY COMPLETE, LEJoG by bus and train is over

Just a matter now of collecting my pledged donations and raising as much money as possible. I opened the Charity Collection tin that Jonathan took round the Far North Line train on Day 2 and it contained £57, so again Thank You to those people who I have never met before, your generosity is appreciated.

20170518_185926

Time for The Tykester to award his LEJoG by bus and train Awards based on my experiences from “End to End”

Best B&B : Harbour House, Wick & Arkale Lodge, Carlisle

Best Breakfast: Harbour House, Wick .. brought to my room, proper full breakfast.

Best Wetherspoons Food: The Alexander Bain, Wick

Not the best Wetherspoons food: The Kings Highway, Inverness

Best WiFi: Whiteways, Penzance

Worst WiFi: Harbour House, Wick .. couldn’t connect

Best Train Operator (not VT related): ScotRail

Worst Train Operator (not VT related): GWR

Total money spent (including trains, b&bs, food etc)  £338.16

and Finally a MASSIVE TYKESTER THANK YOU to everybody that as text, rang, facebooked me, tweeted me, Instagram likes & comments,

also to all the lovely people I have met on this journey from Lands End to John o Groats via Penzance, Carlisle, Inverness, Wick, Thurso and Edinburgh and finally back to Wolverhampton.

charity1

Author: the tykester

Married with 2 big kids and 2 step kids and 2 grandkids and 1 step granddaughter, live in Willenhall West Midlands, support Barnsley FC. I work for Virgin Trains

Leave a Reply

