Story behind The Real LEJoG by bus and train

20170515_074407

When I first started my blog way back in January I started by writing about The Perfect LEJoG journey based on everything running okay with no problems or headaches so obviously now I have completed the trip I thought I would throw some final stats out there now I have caught up with everything and more or less finalised things.

From Start to Finish .. that’s from travelling to Penzance on May 14th through to returning home on May 18th .. the total travel times including waiting for buses and trains was 47 hours 53 minutes and travelling 1905.85 miles in total of which 955.83 miles was actual Lands End to John o Groats.

The first 2 days were the longest because I travelled as far north as possible including what I always knew would be a challenging second day and it definetely was a challenge with disruption along the way.

screenshot.4

The picture above gives a breakdown of the REAL LEJoG including distances which I calculated using a web page RAILMILES and asking the bus driver the actual bus miles, the actual time spent travelling is shown too and the cost of all my tickets, you are wondering why its so cheap well if you remember I work for Virgin Trains and get discount on other train operators and free travel on our services of which 2 of the trips were Virgin Trains. train tickets cost me £73.90 and bus tickets cost me £17.50, it would have been cheaper if I had some change when travelling to Lands End on Day 1 but I had to pay twice £5.20 each way.

screenshot.5

Above is another stat attack, I love statistics of any kind, a breakdown of the REAL LEJoG.

I stopped off at 4 different points along the way, overnight stays in Penzance, Carlisle, Wick & Inverness also ticked off 6 Wetherspoons too including the most southern and most northern. I have to date raised £1078 donated or pledged for 3 Chrities Help Harry Help Others, Survivors of Suicide by Bereavement & Prostate Cancer UK.

charity1cropped-promolejog1.jpg

 

20170519_191207

Author: the tykester

Married with 2 big kids and 2 step kids and 2 grandkids and 1 step granddaughter, live in Willenhall West Midlands, support Barnsley FC. I work for Virgin Trains

Leave a Reply

